Home

Scintilla Project Prompt: Talk about a time when you were driving and you sang in the car, all alone. Why do you remember this song and that stretch of road?

An instant montage of movie clips where the main character is alone in their car crying as some song plays over their sobs comes to mind. Cue pouring rain and/or night time with shadows across the face, a driving away from a break-up wondering how your heart is ever going to love again situation. I too have succumbed to the typical “Cry As You Drive” scenario. I have played out the scene of “Blast Great Song On the Radio” for my own enjoyment. I’ve stumbled across a song I’ve never heard before but speaks to me like I wrote it myself. I’ve dealt with the That Song I’ve Heard Too Many Times But Find Myself Humming Halfway Through It Anyway dilemma. Driving and music seem to go hand in hand.

I have found that some of my best “driving music” falls within the country genre’s boundary lines. I realize this statement makes others cringe, stick their nose up, or do a double take. Country music may just speak to me because I was raised on the stuff, or maybe I genuinely have a taste for it. It never fails to remind me of home (specifically my dad) and has always left me feeling comforted. Quite frankly, country music is both simple and relatable, and that’s what I love about it.

I caught myself getting into “Love Like Crazy” by Lee Brice on my drive home from work yesterday. I catch myself changing my posture when the song comes on, back straightening as my ears perk up like a dog hearing a whistle in the distance. Before I know it, I’m singing along to the chorus and forgetting about the workday behind me.

Be a best friend, tell the truth
And overuse “I love you”
Go to work, do your best
Don’t outsmart your common sense
Never let your prayin’ knees get lazy
And love like crazy

2 minutes in, I have to glance at the speedometer and remember the road has rules (and cops). I wonder if I get pulled over the officer will hear my music and relate to me and let me off on the sheer fact that he/she “loves that song”. I slow down to only be 5 miles over the speed limit with two exits to go. Fidgeting to get out of my work clothes, I turn up the volume a little more.

Just ask him how he made it
He’ll tell you faith and sweat
And the heart of a faithful woman
Who never let him forget

It’s songs like this that make me realize I romanticize life a little too much. Whoever I end up with, I hope he believes this stuff. The movies may dramatize these private moments, but the words are still true. Films find a place in our minds because of powerful acting, beautiful music and lighting, and compelling plots. Songs find place in our hearts because our thoughts have been transformed into sounds we can control with a volume button- allowing us to drown out all other noise and have hope we are really going somewhere as we travel to a destination.

Leave a Reply

